Skip to Content

Are Maruchan Ramen Noodles Vegan? What You Need To Know

Yes, Maruchan ramen noodles themselves are vegan but the seasoning packet that comes with them isn’t.

If you ever find yourself craving some good old instant noodles but don’t know if they fit into a vegan diet, you’re in the right place.

Maruchan instant ramen noodles offer a cheap and convenient meal. So what goes into making them?

Let’s find out together.

Are Maruchan Ramen Noodles Vegan | Girl Meets Food

Are Maruchan ramen noodles vegan?

Maruchan noodles themselves don’t contain any animal ingredients. The three key ingredients are wheat flour, vegetable oil and salt.

Unfortunately, the flavor packet that comes with the noodles has animal products such as beef extract, beef fat, pork flavor powder, shrimp extract, etc.

So for vegans, it’s best to leave out the soup base or find an alternative.

Another issue that vegans can be concerned about is that Maruchan noodles are manufactured in the same facility that deals with shellfish and fish products. So they may have come into contact with animal-based ingredients during production.

What does vegan mean?

Being a vegan means rejecting animal products like meat, dairy, eggs, honey, or items containing gelatin and lanolin.

Many vegans also avoid consuming products tested on animals or containing components derived from animals (like leather or wool) for ethical or moral reasons.

For many people being a vegan isn’t just about the food – it’s the most ethical and environmentally responsible choice.

This diet is becoming more accessible as the number of vegans is growing rapidly worldwide.

What exactly are Maruchan ramen noodles?

Package of Maruchan ramen noodles | Girl Meets Food

Japanese ramen noodles are made using wheat-based noodles and are typically served in pork or chicken broth.

Maruchan is a popular brand of instant ramen noodles, invented by a Japanese visionary, Kazuo Mori.

Many people nowadays enjoy Maruchan products for their familiar flavor, quick preparation, and convenience.

Noodles are typically supplied in packs, and with each pack comes a spice packet to be used while cooking.

Different flavors are available. Chicken, steak, chile, shrimp, pork, soy sauce, and a plethora of other flavors are just a few examples.

Maruchan ramen noodle ingredients

The ingredients in Maruchan instant noodles are:

  • enriched wheat flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid)
  • vegetable oil (contains one or more of the following: canola, cottonseed, palm) preserved by TBHQ,

Less than 1% of:

  • salt
  • soy sauce (water, wheat, soybeans, salt)
  • potassium carbonate
  • sodium (mono, hexameta, and/or tripoly)
  • phosphate
  • sodium carbonate
  • turmeric

This ingredients list doesn’t contain any animal products. But the soup base that comes with the noodles contains animal ingredients in all Maruchan ramen flavors.

You can find beef extract listed even on Soy Sauce Flavor and Chili Flavor.

Maruchan noodles nutrition facts

One serving of Maruchan ramen noodles (47g) contains around 220 calories and 5g of protein which is relatively low for a meal.

Maruchan noodles are not a significant source of vitamins and minerals. But some flavors may contain added iron and vitamin C.

Maruchan noodles don’t sound like the healthiest food option, do they? But they can be eaten in moderation as part of a balanced diet.

It’s always best to double-check the nutritional information on the ramen packages to ensure that you are making an informed choice.

How to make vegan Maruchan ramen noodles?

Vegan ramen noodles in a white bowl with chopsticks next to it | Girl Meets Food

To make the Maruchan ramen noodles vegan, simply prepare them without using the seasoning package that comes with the noodles.

My suggestion is to use your favorite seasonings and toppings instead. You can add soy sauce, kimchi, mushrooms, bok choy, tofu, corn and chili flakes to your vegan ramen recipe and enjoy a tasty soup.

Another great idea is to make a vegan noodle salad. I like using my favorite veggies like carrots, green onions, corn, mung bean sprouts (or a mung bean substitute) and mixing them with some delicious sesame soy sauce.

Maruchan noodles FAQs

Are Maruchan ramen noodles vegan certified?

Unfortunately, Maruchan ramen noodles aren’t certified vegan.

Are Maruchan ramen noodles gluten-free?

No, Maruchan ramen noodles aren’t gluten-free. They contain wheat flour as one of their main ingredients.

What flavors are available for vegans?

There aren’t any vegan flavors available. The best option is to prepare the noodles without using the flavoring packet that comes with them.

Does Maruchan offer any vegan products?

No, Maruchan doesn’t offer any vegan products. All of them contain animal ingredients, like beef extract, beef fat, chicken flavor, shrimp extract, lactose etc.

Are there any vegan-friendly alternatives to Maruchan noodles?

Yes, there are vegan-friendly alternatives to Maruchan noodles.

Some of these include:
• Top Ramen Soy Sauce flavor and Chili Flavor
• Koyo Ramen Noodles
• Lotus Foods Rice Ramen and Rice Ramen Soup Cups
• Nongshim Soon Veggie Noodle Soup
• Dr. McDougall’s Vegan Ramen Chicken Soup
• Annie Chun’s Shoyu Ramen Noodle Bowl

All of these brands of ramen offer some delicious alternatives to Maruchan noodles.

Are Maruchan ramen noodles healthy?

Despite their popularity, Maruchan ramen noodles are not a nutritious option, especially when eaten with their soup base. They include a lot of fat, calories, and sodium.

Additional ingredients include artificial flavors and preservatives.

Does Maruchan have any plans to create a certified vegan line of noodles?

It is not currently known if Maruchan has any plans to create a certified vegan line of noodles.

BOTTOM LINE: Maruchan ramen noodles are vegan, but their seasoning packet is not. To make them vegan, skip the soup base and add your preferred toppings. Although the noodles alone aren’t very nutrient-dense, they can still be part of a balanced diet when paired with other, more wholesome foods.

If you’re looking for more vegan food, check out if Mission flour tortillas are vegan-friendly or energy drinks are vegan!