Skip to Content

Are Takis Vegan? The Reality Behind The Popular Treats

Yes, most Takis are vegan.

They’re a popular snack among people looking for ways to satisfy their cravings for salty and spicy snacks.

But are all of the flavors plant-based?

Takis’ components and production techniques determine if they’re vegan-friendly. So we’ll take a closer look at those to see if Takis are suitable for vegans.

Are Takis Vegan featured image | Girl Meets Food

Are Takis vegan?

If you look at the components in Takis, you’ll see that they’re almost all plant-based and free of any kind of animal products.

Corn flour, vegetable oil, and seasonings make up the bulk of Takis’s components. Nothing here will harm a vegan diet.

However, it’s important to note that some Takis varieties may contain milk ingredients and eggs.

Additionally, food colorings used in Takis products – red 40 lake, yellow 6 lake, and blue 1 lake – are vegan but may be subjected to animal testing.

Although most Takis varieties should be fine for vegans, you should always check the ingredients list before making a purchase.

Don’t forget that Takis are produced at a facility that also processes milk and eggs. Strict vegans understandably hesitate to purchase anything that may have come into contact with animal derivatives at any stage of manufacturing.

What are Takis?

Takis chips in a transparent bowl | Girl Meets Food

Takis are a variety of flavorful and spicy corn tortilla chips made by Barcel, a subsidiary of Grupo Bimbo. Common flavors include Takis Fuego, Takis Nitro, Guacamole Takis, Blue Heat Takis and Crunchy Fajitas Takis.

There are several different varieties, each with its own signature spicy flavor.

Apart from classic rolled tortilla chips, they come in many other shapes and forms, including:

  • Takis Chipzz
  • Takis Stix
  • Takis Crisps
  • Takis Waves
  • Takis Hot Nuts
  • Takis POP!
  • Takis Kettlez

Because of their popularity, they’re easily obtainable at most grocery stores or online.

Ingredients in Takis Fuego

Let’s have a look at the ingredients used to make Takis Fuego Rolled Tortilla Chips. This popular flavor includes:

  • corn flour (processed with lime)
  • vegetable oil (palm and/or, soybean and/or, canola oil)
  • seasoning (salt, maltodextrin, citric acid, sugar, monosodium glutamate, hydrolyzed soy protein, onion powder, yeast extract, red 40 lake, yellow 6 lake, natural and artificial flavors, sodium bicarbonate, soybean oil, chili pepper (chile), disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate, TBHQ

You can truly taste the fire in these rolled chips. The first time I had these, I had to drink a lot of water to cool myself from the intensity of the flavor.

The ingredients in different flavors vary but the main components remain the same.

What Takis flavors are non-vegan?

Some Takis flavors with non-vegan ingredients are:

  • Takis Crunchy Fajitas (contains milk and egg)
  • Takis Guacamole (contains milk)
  • Takis Crisps Fuego (contains carmine lake)
  • Takis Waves Fuego (contains carmine lake)

Carmine lake is a food coloring which isn’t considered vegan because it’s made from crushed cochineal insects. For ethical reasons, some vegans avoid carmine-containing goods.

Are Takis healthy?

A pile of Takis chips near the package | Girl Meets Food

When it comes to nutrition, Takis definitely don’t make the cut. They’re loaded with sugar, salt, preservatives and artificial colors and flavors.

When consumed excessively, these spicy chips might cause health problems like obesity.

Eating too much unhealthy fat can contribute to weight gain and increase the risk of heart disease and other health problems, just as eating too much salt can elevate blood pressure and strain the cardiovascular system.

When I have the munchies for something along those lines, I opt for healthier options like fruit and vegetable chips instead.

I also like to add some spice to my homemade baked tortilla chips by seasoning them with paprika or chili powder. They make a really cool alternative to Takis.

However, Takis may be enjoyed within the context of a healthy diet if consumed in moderation. Remember that Takis are a highly processed snack item and not a replacement for a balanced diet.

Takis FAQs

Is the red color in Takis vegan?

Yes, the red color in Takis is vegan and derived from a combination of artificial colors. For example, Takis Fuego Rolled Tortilla Chips use red 40 lake and yellow 6 lake food dyes.

Although these colorings are dietarily vegan they may not be animal cruelty-free due to animal testing.

Moreover, some Takis varieties, like Takis Crisps Fuego and Takis Waves Fuego use carmine lake which is produced from crushed insects and is therefore non-vegan.

Do Takis contain any animal ingredients?

No, most Takis varieties don’t contain any animal-derived ingredients. But they may be subjected to cross-contamination and use ingredients tested on animals.

What are the ingredients in Takis?

The main ingredients in Takis are corn flour, vegetable oils and seasonings.

Are Takis made in a facility that deals with animal ingredients?

Yes, Takis are made in a facility that deals with animal ingredients, like milk and eggs.

How to make sure Takis are vegan before buying?

A vegan label or certification can be used to tell if a package of Takis is suitable for a vegan diet.

As an added precaution, you can examine the ingredient list to be sure there are no animal derivatives.

If you still have doubts about the product, make sure to contact the manufacturer for further detail.

Are Takis nutritious?

High in salt and harmful fats, Takis are a highly processed snack food that is not good for you. Consuming them in large quantities is not recommended because they do not contribute to a healthy diet.

What is the nutritional value of Takis?

One serving (30g) of Takis Fuego Rolled Tortilla Chips contains 156 calories, 2.2g of protein, 8.2g of fat and 1.5g of dietary fiber. 

Are any of the ingredients in Takis certified organic?

There is no information regarding the organic status of Takis’s ingredients. The manufacturer of Takis has not officially indicated whether or not the items contain organic ingredients, and neither the packaging nor the product itself indicates whether or not they do.

If you’re seeking organic snacks in particular, you might want to read labels on other products or visit an organic grocery store.

Do Takis contain any dairy products?

Some Takis flavors do contain dairy products. These include Takis Crunchy Fajitas and Takis Guacamole.

What are healthier alternatives to Takis?

There are plenty of alternatives that can satisfy your craving for crunchy snacks without the added salt, artificial flavors, and bad fats that you’ll find in Takis.

Some alternative vegan snacks include fruit or veggie chips, fresh veggie sticks, roasted nuts and popcorn.

You may also check out other brands of chips that provide healthier snack products like baked chips, whole grain chips and multigrain chips.

BOTTOM LINE: most Takis flavors are suitable for vegans because they’re made using corn flour, vegetable oil and spices. On the other hand, some Takis include milk products, eggs and carmine lake, which is not vegan or vegetarian-friendly. Takis tortilla chips are high in sugar, salt, preservatives, and artificial colors and flavors, yet in moderation, they can be part of a balanced diet.

If you’re interested, you can also check out whether probiotics are vegan or energy drinks are vegan-friendly! 🙂