Skip to Content

Are Starburst Jelly Beans Vegan in 2024?

Unfortunately, Starburst Jelly Beans can’t be considered vegan.

Your search for information about these chewy candies ends here.

But I should probably tell you that not everyone will enjoy all of the components.

Here, I’ll investigate Starburst Jelly Beans’ production process to see if they’re cruelty-free and fit for a vegan diet.

Are Starburst Jelly Beans Vegan featured image | Girl Meets Food

Are Starburst Jelly Beans vegan?

Starburst Jelly Beans contain beeswax which can’t be considered vegan in most cases. This component acts as an emulsifier, keeping the jelly beans chewy and fresh for as long as possible.

Beeswax isn’t a vegan-friendly food because it is derived from honeybees. Beeswax is produced without harming any bees, although many vegans avoid it because it is derived from an animal.

Beeswax can be replaced with soy wax, carnauba wax, or another plant-based wax if you’re trying to avoid animal ingredients.

Starburst Jelly Beans actually contain carnauba wax as one of the ingredients as well.

Another thing to be concerned about is that Starburst Jelly Beans include food colors like yellow 5, red 40, yellow 6, blue 1 and titanium dioxide. These additives may be tested on animals and therefore create an issue for many vegans.

What are Starburst Jelly Beans?

Starburst Jelly Beans on a yellow surface | Girl Meets Food

Starburst Jelly Beans are a classic Eastertime candy made by the Wrigley Company which is now a subsidiary of Mars, Incorporated.

Starburst Jelly Beans are small, round candies that have a chewy center and a hard candy shell. They’re a popular treat during holidays such as Easter and Halloween.

There are several flavors of these sweets, such cherry, strawberry, orange, lemon, green apple and grape.

The jelly beans are made with sugar, corn syrup, modified food starch, natural and artificial flavors, fruit juice, colors and other components.

Starburst Jelly Beans ingredients

The ingredient list for Starburst Jelly Beans includes:

  • sugar
  • corn syrup
  • modified corn starch
  • less than 2% of: citric acid, acacia, concentrate (apple juice), natural flavors and artificial flavors, sodium citrate, carnauba wax, colors (yellow 5, red 40, yellow 6, blue 1, titanium dioxide), â mineral oil, beeswax.

Except for the beeswax, which comes from actual bees, all of the components are vegan.

Are Starburst Jelly Beans healthy?

Starburst Jelly Beans aren’t exactly the healthiest snack.

Made with sugar, corn syrup, and modified corn starch, these candies are very heavy in sugar.

Starburst Jelly Beans contain 100 calories and 20 grams of sugar for a single serving (28 grams). This is equivalent to almost 4 teaspoons of sugar!

Artificial flavors and colorings are also found in Starburst Jelly Beans, and both of these factors contribute to their unhealthiness.

Vegan alternatives

Raw vegan sweets on wooden board | Girl Meets Food

In case you’re a vegan and need your Starburst jelly bean fix, you’re in luck: there are some alternative brands of candy.

Some examples are Surf Sweets Jelly Beans, YumEarth Organic Jelly Beans and Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans (if you’re OK with artificial colors).

If you have dietary restrictions, it’s vital to check the ingredients list before purchasing any jelly beans.

There are quite a few other snack options to satisfy your sweet tooth:

  • Fresh fruit. Some berries, grapes, apples, citrus fruits or melons are great snacks –  naturally sweet and full of essential vitamins and minerals, as well as fiber.
  • Dried fruit. Raisins, dried cranberries, dates or dried apricots are healthier alternatives with really sweet flavors.
  • Nuts and seed. Cashews, almonds, walnuts, pistachios or pumpkin seeds make a very healthy alternative. They’re packed with protein, healthy fats, and fiber.
  • Smoothies. A sweet and juicy snack made with a variety of fruit and easily customizable to your taste and nutritional needs.
  • Fruit roll-ups. Something sweet and chewy, made with real fruit and no added sugar.
  • Homemade jelly candies. You can make your favorite candies at home with a few simple ingredients like fruit juice, sugar, water and agar agar.

Starburst Jelly Beans FAQs

Are the ingredients in Starburst Jelly Beans vegan?

The ingredients used to make Starburst Jelly Beans aren’t all vegan. They include beeswax which is an animal-based ingredient.

Are the colors used in Starburst Jelly Beans vegan?

Yes, the colors used in Starburst Jelly Beans are technically vegan as they don’t contain any animal products. However, they may undergo animal testing.

Are Starburst Jelly Beans and Starburst Gummies the same thing?

Starburst Jelly Beans and Starburst Gummies are two different Starburst products.

Starburst Gummies are soft, gummy candies that come in a variety of fruit flavors, whereas Starburst Jelly Beans are small, round sweets with a chewy interior and a firm candy shell.

Do Starburst Jelly Beans contain any gluten-based ingredients?

No, these jelly beans don’t contain any gluten-based ingredients.

How to make sure jelly beans are vegan before buying?

Vegans looking to stock up on jelly beans should seek out brands that have been verified as cruelty-free by the Vegan Society or a similar group.

Additionally, they need to look out for components like gelatin or beeswax that are non-vegan ingredients.

Are there any health benefits to eating vegan jelly beans?

Vegan jelly beans may be beneficial to your health because they are often prepared with all-natural ingredients and include no artificial colors or flavors.

A plant-based diet also has the potential to improve general health and reduce the risk of certain diseases.

Are vegan jelly beans more expensive than non-vegan jelly beans?

Although vegan jelly beans can range in price, the natural and organic components they contain typically make them more expensive than their conventional counterparts.

BOTTOM LINE: as they include honeybee-derived beeswax and perhaps animal-tested food dyes, Starburst Jelly Beans do not qualify as vegan. Because of their high sugar content and artificial flavors and colorings, they aren’t considered to be the healthiest snack option either.

Wish to learn more about vegan treats? Find out if Gushers are vegan and Sweet Tarts are vegan?